top of page

Trader Joe's, Clutch!

And the countdown is still on: FIRST DAY OF SPRING IN FIVE DAYS! Bring me spring and get rid of this cold, back and forth weather!

The month of March has been fun, busy and quick. I got to celebrate a good friend, Katlyn, her husband and soon to be Baby B at the beginning of March followed by a fun dinner in the evening with some RAD humans! The following weekend I got to celebrate my Uncle Mike and Aunt Beck's 50th wedding anniversary with ALL the fam + Tom's family came down for a visit so it was a WHOLE weekend of awesome!

Why is the title of this blog say Trader Joe's? Well because Trader Joe's is awesome! In February, Tom, Grady, Megan and I spent a day in Charlottesville going Rae Dunn shopping and ending with a trip to Trader Joe's. Well I stocked up on some things while we were there and I did not stock up ENOUGH! I got two Caulipower cauliflower pizza crust so that Tom and I could make pizza one weekend and that is GONE because we each needed our own pizzas, duh! It was delicious as we topped it with mozzarella cheese, sausage, ham, onions and tomato sauce. Two other things I picked up were a frozen shrimp stir-fry and rice cauliflower stir-fry. I had no idea what I would use these for but they looked delicious and had great macros for meal prep! Well, I used them last week for my dinners and let me tell you, YUM!

I followed the instructions on the stir-fry and threw the shrimp on the stove to cook for about 2 minutes then I added in the frozen veggies that came in the same pack and let those go for about 2 minutes, as well. The bag came with a packet of seasoning that I threw on top. This bag makes two servings so I separated it out and then put one serving back over heat while adding in a serving of the cauliflower stir-fry. As both of those were heating up I threw on some coconut aminos (you can get these at Martin's as a substitute for soy sauce), a 1/2 cup (81g) of cooked jasmine rice and 3 ounces of cooked ground turkey to complete my macros for dinner. This meal turned out delicious and was a whopping 486 grams of FOOD to consume for dinner! VOLUME EATING! When I say it was volume eating I mean it was dense food full of nutrients that will keep you full longer instead of things like sugary cereal! Also, it allowed me to enjoy a Better Oats 100 calorie oatmeal pack as a bedtime treat.

So a purchase added to my list when I move in June is a FREEZER just to store bulk frozen meats, stir-fry, all the cauliflower crust pizzas and store all the goodies from MORE trips to Trader Joe's. Can Harrisonburg PLEASE get one?! I am imagining that another trip will be in my near future for more fabulous food purchases. One item I still have not used is an almond milk based cream cheese. I want to make some cookies I found on paleomg.com that used this as a base for paleo chocolate chip cookies! Sweet treats are always a good idea, right?! :)

Yes, I said I am moving in JUNE, wahoo! I am excited, as we are looking for a place with a garage and a small yard! Cannot wait to decorate!

Happy almost Fri-Yay!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page