top of page

CHICKEN BURRITO BOWL

Everyone seemed to LOVE the last crockpot meal I posted two weeks ago so I thought "let's share another delicious recipe for you all to try!"

Seriously, I use the crockpot for EVERYTHING! Ok, not for my breakfast meals currently but all my lunches and dinners come from the crockpot. However, there is a breakfast porridge recipe I may have to share that is a delicious breakfast option. I am telling you now "make the crockpot your friend!" It makes meal prep so much easier and it makes delicious food, as well!

Today I am going to share with you the Chicken Burrito Bowl, yassss!

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts

  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil

  • 3 teaspoons of onion powder

  • 2 teaspoons of garlic powder

  • 3 teaspoons of chili powder

  • 2 teaspoons of cumin

  • 1 teaspoon of kosher salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

  • 3 cups of low-sodium chicken broth

  • 1 15 oz can of diced tomatoes, drained

  • 1 14 oz can of black beans, drained and rinsed

  • 2 3/4 cups of instant whole grain brown rice

  • 1 1/2 cups of shredded colby jack cheese (this is optional, I do not use this)

Instructions

  1. Place chicken breasts in slow cooker.

  2. Pour chicken broth over chicken breasts and stir in canned tomatoes, olive oil, onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder, cumin, salt and pepper.

  3. Cook on low for about 4 hours, until chicken reaches 165 degrees.

  4. Remove chicken breasts from slow cooker.

  5. Turn slow cooker to high and stir in instant rice and black beans.

  6. Let cook 30-45 minutes on high, or until rice is tender.

  7. Add chicken back in, top with cheese and let cook a few minutes longer until cheese is melted.

  8. Serves 10!

I, personally, do not add in the rice because I make a big batch of jasmine rice on Sundays to add to all my meals, and I do not put the cheese on top because I try to avoid dairy as much as I can. TRY being the main word because we all know I do not avoid ICE CREAM!

Here are the macros per servings for my version (NO rice or cheese):

4g Fat/18g Carbs/23g Protein

Hope you find time to make this meal soon and enjoy it as much as I do. It is like Chipotle or Qudoba at home, right?!

Let's get back in to WORKOUT WEDNESDAY! Here is a workout to get your body moving today:

15 Minute AMRAP (as many rounds and reps as possible)

25 push ups

25 chair step-ups (or bench step-ups if outside)

25 sit ups

25 sumo squats

Love sharing some fitness and food with you all!

ENJOY pals! Have a day to remember!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page