top of page

MAAC 2017

It's HUMP DAY, what what!

I spent last weekend in Maryland with some of my pals doing some CrossFit things and laughing, of course! The last three years I have competed at the Mid-Atlantic Affiliate Challenge (MAAC) in Maryland. This is a four-person, two-day competition run by the 12 Labours CrossFit crew. I LOVE this competition. You are guaranteed 5 workouts and all very different/fun workouts. The crew is awesome, the competition is great and everything runs on time. This is always a fun weekend for me because I get to compete with amazing friends, go against some great competitors, catch up with people I do not get to see often and meet new friends.

I have had the privilege of competing with some amazing athletes at this competition which has led us to two podium finishes in RX (2015 & 2016) and a 6th place finish in Elite this year. Huge thank you to Rachel for stepping in last minute to fill an empty spot on our team, you rock! So happy that we took the plunge and registered in the Elite division. It is awesome to see where you stand against some of the best athletes on the East Coast, and obviously we always leave with things we need to work on. We might not have had the best goal going into the weekend but we accomplished that goal: ZERO last place finishes in a workout or the whole competition! Way to go team!

Each year they start the competition with one girl and one guy teammate maxing out on snatch and one guy and one girl maxing out on clean and jerk, yay! I obviously LOVE this event because I love to lift! They take all four lifts and add them together for your team total for event 1. Each year the cards have dealt me the clean and jerk lift as that would accumulate the highest number for the girls if I hit near my max. In 2015, I hit 215 (my then clean max), and in 2016 I set a personal record at 230. This year I was able to match that. Since 2016 MAAC, I have not hit 230. Honestly, I was not sure that would happen this past weekend since we have been doing a lot of cardio and coming off the open season, but the energy from my teammates and the competition boosted that adrenaline. Year two of the highest clean and jerk, pumped! My teammates also CRUSHED their lifts; Rachel hitting an easy 155 snatch, Taylor setting a personal record snatch at 260 and Ryan hitting a competition clean and jerk personal record at 290. We took 5th as team in this workout.

The second workout was all synchronized movements in male/female pairs. We took 6th in that workout. The next workout was tough but fun. It started with a trail run followed by 40 squats, 20 clean and jerks, 40 squats, 20 clean and jerks and finishing with a lunge across the field. The variable; this was done with a sandbag "serpent." Each person had a 75 lb sandbag but all four were connected with a chain so all the movements had to be in sync. This one was tough but we finished 4th, which had us closing out the day in 6th place overall.

Day two started with all the coffee then a sprint workout followed by my favorite workout of the weekend. We took 6th in the sprint workout and then finished the weekend on a high note with a 3rd place finish in workout 5. Workout 5 was my favorite. It consisted of the following:

M/M and F/F pairs

F/F start on rower accumulating as many calories as possible and switching as you please

M/M start with the AMRAP

1 legless rope climb

2 regular rope climbs

20 wall balls (30/20)

10 dball over shoulder (150/100)

*once M/M pair finished they went to rower and we completed a round of the AMRAP.

After this workout, we were 2 points shy of making the top 5, which advanced to the final workout. This put us in 6th to finish off an awesome weekend.

Obviously, we celebrated the end of an awesome weekend with FOOD at Mission BBQ, YUM! It was an awesome weekend surrounded by awesome people and makes me ready to TRAIN, TRAIN, TRAIN!

Have a grand day!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page