top of page

THE FUNDAMENTALS OF TORI SLANG

Good morning folks! How's your day going? Hope it's starting out with a bang.

Before we get too far into this blog, I wanted to make sure you understood some of my "slang." We all know I can talk to a wall, and sometimes I say things that have no meaning to you all, but mean so much to me.

The fundamentals:

Let's start with CROSSFIT. What is CrossFit? Besides being an obsession of mine, CrossFit is made up of constantly varied, functional movements performed at high-intensity intervals. (crossfit.com.) CrossFit is a fitness regimen that challenges you in your strength and mental capabilities. I can tell you from first hand experience at CrossFit Harrisonburg (CFH) that I have grown mentally and physically not only in CrossFit but in life, as well. LIFE CHANGER for me!

The OPEN = CrossFit related but needs its own definition. Each year at the end of February, the CrossFit Games season begins. I do CrossFit all year and compete often, but what a lot of people train for is the open season, where they get to see how they stack up to the WORLD. For five weeks, every Thursday night a workout is released and you have until Monday night to complete this specific work out. You can do the workout as many times as you like over the four days before entering your score. At the end of the five weeks, the top 20 from each region qualify for the next stage of the season: regionals. It is a grueling five weeks mentally and physically, but it tests all your hard work and work capacity.

MACROS! What do I mean when I say macros? I am referring to macro-nutrients (protein, carbohydrates, and fats) in food. I personally track the macros in everything I eat. OK, I kind of "forget" to track on some days, but the majority of my meals have been weighed and measured before I eat them! So when I refer to food having "good" macros, I mean it is a food that has some volume to it and does not have too much of one particular macro-nutrient. I will dig deeper into this subject in a later blog post but for now if you want to a little more information check out this post: A Quick Guide to Understand Macro-Nutrients.

RUBI = my girl! When I reference Rubi it is all about my wonderful four wheels that gets me around in my day to day adventures. In September of 2016 I finally convinced myself, with the help of some family and friends, that I could and should get my dream JEEP! Since that day, Rubi and I have done some heartfelt thinking, podcast listening, topless adventuring (come on now, riding around with the top off my jeep) and lots of jammin'. Here's to many more fun times with Rubi!

MARORI: This is obviously a made name up, but I foresee many adventures shared on this blog that will involve my roommate, Maria and I. We joined our names soon after moving in together, creating a hashtag (#theadventuresofMarori) to share all of our awkward, funny and absolutely amazing adventures with everyone. Maybe one day our music video will make an appearance!

Well, I am not so sure that is "brief" in some people's eyes, but that is a rundown on some of my "slang." There is probably more I am forgetting so try to stay with me through these blog posts and I will try and keep you up to date with all my lingo!

Have a wonderful day and thanks for stopping by!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page